Videoannotation – Relating Precisely to Audio-Visual Images

The drastically changed possibilities of digital research tools have inspired researchers (e.g. in Digital Humanities) to explore new ways of annotating audio-visual media. A genealogy of methods in film studies could be drawn from the development from note-taking in the darkness of a projection room and detailed studies on the flatbed editor to the possibilities of automatic shot recognition and visualization on the personal computer. Video annotation can thereby be understood as the creation of timed metadata accompanying audiovisual media.

In our research group we use the open-source video-annotation software Advene that has been developed since 2002 and which is now adjusted and extended in close cooperation with the computer scientist and developer Dr. Olivier Aubert.

The modular structured Advene (Annotate Digital Video, Exchange on the NEt) allows the extensive annotation of video files as well as the subsequent visualisation and online publication as ‘hypervideo’ of this metadata. Additional to already implemented identification modules (e.g. automated shot recognition) interfaces for further modules will be created. A special challenge is the large amount of annotations our research approach demands – a single film is described with several thousand annotations.

Especially important for the further development of this open-source software is the re-use and modification-possibilities through other film scholars so that they can use the free software tool and our proposed analysis systematics for their own purposes without being restricted.

View of an exemplary file from the development phase

Links:

https://www.advene.org/

Videoannotation – Methoden der präzisen Bezugnahme auf audiovisuelles Bewegtbild

Die drastisch veränderten Möglichkeiten digitaler Forschungswerkzeuge haben in den letzten Jahren, nicht zuletzt im Feld der Digital Humanities, verschiedene Projekte dazu inspiriert, neue Wege der Annotation audiovisuellen Materials auszuloten. Von den Gedächtnisprotokollen der frühen Filmwissenschaft und Notizen im Dunkel des Kinosaals über Detailstudien am Schneidetisch bis hin zur Möglichkeiten der automatischen Schnitterkennung und -visualisierung am heimischen Laptop lässt sich eine Veränderung filmwissenschaftlicher Werkzeuge nachzeichnen. Unter Videoannotation ist dabei die zeitbezogene Ergänzung von audiovisuellen Medieninhalten um Metadaten zu verstehen.

Im Projekt wird mit der seit 2002 beständig weiterentwickelten Videoannotationssoftware Advene gearbeitet, die in enger Zusammenarbeit mit dem Informatiker und Entwickler von Advene Dr. Olivier Aubert angepasst und erweitert wird.

Das modular aufgebaute Advene (Annotate Digital Video, Exchange on the NEt) bietet Möglichkeiten zur Annotation von Videodateien, wie auch weitergehenden Visualisierungen und der Veröffentlichung von Analysen als “hypervideo” im Internet. Neben bereits implementierten Erkenner-Modulen (z.b. automatische Schnitterkennung) sollen Schnittstellen für weitere Erkenner geschaffen werden. Eine besondere Herausforderung stellt dabei die große Anzahl an Annotationen unseres detaillierten Analyseansatz dar, bei denen ein einzelner Film mit mehreren tausend Annotationen beschrieben wird.

Wichtig ist bei der Weiterentwicklung der Open-Source-Software jedoch stets die Nach- und Andersnutzung des Programmes, sodass andere Filmwissenschaftler_Innen eigene Untersuchungen oder Weiterentwicklungen der vorgeschlagenen Untersuchungssystematik  mit  einem gemeinsam geteilten und freien Tool realisieren können.

Ansicht einer Testdatei aus der Entwicklungsphase

Link:

https://www.advene.org/